Reviews

Elizabet: Under the Back Staircase

4.0 out of 5 starsElizabet, January 25, 2017
This review is from: Elizabet, Under the Back Staircase (Kindle Edition)
An emotional story full of love and loss. I loved how independent and strong the main character was, overcoming so much in her life. I enjoyed the flow of the story and how real it felt. Keeping with the times the story touched on the war, suffrage and women’s right.
An inspirational book that I highly recommend to historical romance fans.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsAmazing! Comes To Life As You Read!, June 8, 2015
This review is from: Elizabet, Under the Back Staircase (Kindle Edition)
Elizabet is a wonderfully well written book. Civil War isn’t normally my favorite historical time period to read, but Debbie Zello brought this story to life for me. Elizabet had to struggle so much for everything because of who she was. Not only was I rooting for for her the entire book, I was so thankful, once again, I wasn’t born in that time. This book is a must read! With Debbie Zello’s knowledge of the time period and the characters she brings to life you will feel like you are living right alongside them!

 

Shadows of Him

5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, January 29, 2017
This review is from: Shadows of Him (Paperback)

I must admit that over the past few weeks I have really begun to enjoy the books by Debbie Zello and she has made it onto my must read list.This book is a love story book about Dr. Alexzander (Zan) and Aisling. The problem is that Zan has been cursed by Salem sorcerer and as a result he has to travel in time. Because Zan cant stay in one place long and because he never seems to age he is unable to settle down with anyone. When he meets Aisling be realizes she is the one he wants but how can he keep her? Aisling is a med student that is focused on her studies and ends up going out to a bar with her friends. When she is there she runs into Zan and blows him off when he makes a rude suggestion to her. A no strings attached night where he made sure to tell her that he was good in bed. They end up in bed together and she ends up realizing that she belongs with him and that they fit together until one day she wakes up and he is gone so she tries to figure out what is going on. After talking to a well informed Witch President (Euthia) she learns the whole story. Zan was cursed by a woman that he slept with and didn’t marry and this is the reason that she cursed him. The spell can be broke if 4 things are met but the problem is one of those things seems almost impossible to do. Add on top of that the problem that the spell is collapsing. Will Zan be saved or will the spell collapse? Will Aisling get the man she loves back? Will the year of 1692 cause more problems in the end of the books.I think this is my favorite book by this author so far. I normally am not into anything that is time travel and the fact that I liked it in this book shows how well it was written. You will find yourself frustrated whiel waiting to see if the spell was really destroyed or if she will be waiting forever. The characters are great and so is the plot.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Can love return?, March 31, 2015
This review is from: Shadows of Him (Kindle Edition)
Author Debbie Zello captures my heart again. Shadows of Him is a fun and amazing love story with a twist. Aisling is a young, independent med student working hard toward her studies. Taking an evening to relax, she goes to a bar for drinks with her friends. Her eyes roam the bar when they stop on an exceptionally good looking young man. She can’t stop gazing at Zan’s gorgeous body until he takes notice. When he makes a rather blatantly inappropriate suggestion to her, she sarcastically blows him off. He, however, has other plans.
This is a wonderful love story with delicious heat to make the reader swoon and melt. I found myself rooting for Zan from the very beginning. Obstacles stand in the way, however, testing both of their resolves. I highly recommend this wonderful love story. I can’t wait to see what Debbie Zello writes next. ~AJ Storm~

 

Romancing Broadway

5.0 out of 5 stars reading this book was a great change and only has demonstrated that she is a …, September 9, 2016
This review is from: Romancing Broadway (Kindle Edition)
I was already missing Debbie Zello’s writing and when the opportunity arose to read more of her work I did not hesitate.
Debbie has a simple and inviting writing, which in this case applies perfectly. Although in the first book I read from her the writing was quite complex, reading this book was a great change and only has demonstrated that she is a fantastic and versatile author. The way this author writes can always captivated me from the first chapter.
Romancing Broadway is a tribute to true love, dreams, aspirations and to never give up of what we want. This book is told by Samantha, an actress on the rise for whom life in stardom was not easy. She really wants to achieve the starlight on the show business world but unfortunately we cannot always have what we want. But her persistence is what leads to never give up. When she got a role in a play, she never imagined that her life would change. But change for the better or worse? The enigmatic Cesare enters her life thanks to his perseverance, from the first moment he saw her, he knew he wanted to love her till the end of time.
This book focuses on love, friendship, the desire to want more and better. The whole story is inspiring, I loved the cast and the plot.
Despite the struggles and disagreements this book is fantastic and I loved the surprise that Debbie has in store for her readers.
Debbie Zello, you are creating a monster and because of that I want more books from you.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars a potential star in the making, March 23, 2016
This review is from: Romancing Broadway (Paperback)

Debbie Zello’s Romancing Broadway is a fast-paced romp through New York City and Italy. Part romance novel, part teenage angst, her voice is undeniable. I can tell that she will develop into a more complex writer; in this book she tries out a variety of plots, subplots and romantic points of view. I wouldn’t be surprised if she tries her hand at screenwriting, because her imagery and descriptions are wonderful. She paints a clear and colorful scene for the reader. I couldn’t help wondering how broad an appeal this story would have; who doesn’t like a beautiful 20 something woman who falls in love?Jerry Guarino – author of Trilogies: 18 sets of short fiction and The Da Vinci Diamond, a novel

 

Why We don’t die in Dreams

5.0 out of 5 stars Put at the top of your ” to read” list!!!!, May 16, 2016
This review is from: Why we don’t die in Dreams (Kindle Edition)
Didn’t really know what to expect going in to this book since I have never read any books by Deborrah Zello. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed!!! The characters and the storyline(s) completely drew me in. It was like I could feel the emotions that the characters were feeling.
The way the author seamlessly went from one storyline to the next only heightened the suspense I felt as I read page by page.This book is definitely worth the read, you will not be disappointed!!!Absolutely cannot wait for the next book!!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, July 27, 2016
This review is from: Why we don’t die in Dreams (Kindle Edition)
Hahahahahahaha. What did I just read and HOW am I to write a review? Carefully, very carefully. I refuse to give anything away. This is a mystery, suspense, erotic Romance that, at some point, will throw you down the rabbit hole, lock you down there, then, when you are completely disoriented, it throws you into the twighlight zone. And then it ends because this is a very cruel and sadistic author. LOL. There is another one coming. I hope it’s soon, like before I use up all my crayons as I sit here in the corner blabbering. Just remember that screaming is actually therapeutic. It helps release stress. LOL. I usually hate cliffys but this one is brilliant, and its needed.This is my first book by this author and it will not be the last. Her mind is twisted and she obviously enjoys torturing her readers, but it’s actually fun. There is mystery and I’m warning you now. Don’t even try. It will make it that much harder for you when you get tossed into the rabbit hole. This is a work of art. This author is brilliant. She takes the phrase, “Nothing is as it seems,” and, well, I’m not telling. One click now and you will completely understand.

The writing is impeccable. The plot development is …. Brilliant. The character development, well, LOL, yeah, beyond brilliant. Just one click. You will not be disappointed. I wish there was a support group for this book. There should be a support group…

I very much recommend this experience. You don’t only read this book. No you experience it. I’ll see you down the rabbit hole!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, July 27, 2016
This review is from: Why we don’t die in Dreams (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I have read by Debbie Zello and I will be reading everything she releases. I was intrigued by the title from the start and excited to get my hands on something different. This is a story that will grab you at page one and you better hang on because you’re in for a great ride…. it’s a mystery with a hot detective who is trying to solve the murder of a woman. Throw in a crazy dream he keeps having and believe me, you Won’t be putting this story down until the last page! This is a must read. The character development is amazing in this brilliant mystery! Thank you Ms Zello! I can wait for more.

 

The Middle of my Bridge

5.0 out of 5 stars Brava! Ms. Zello, September 23, 2015
This review is from: The Middle of My Bridge (Paperback)
What a lovely story. This book was a breath of fresh air for me amongst the trash of the majority of romance on the market. This young lady has had a rough life. This has colored all of her romantic decisions in her life. She comes to a town to write a story and meets the most unusual man. He wants to get to know her. He courts her. She on the other hand is so used to just “doing the deed” and going on her way that she is befuddled by this man. This man seems to really know this young lady and to take her would be to have lost her. She must soul search because what he has asked on the surface appears ridiculous. How can something so monumental happen this quickly and how on earth can he be this sure. I will not spoil the end because I hate when this is done. This is one skilled author to have taken a story that on the surface seems a throw away and she made me want to care about her and about them. Brava Ms. Zello. You certainly won me over. denise bailey

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly beautiful book., July 10, 2015
This review is from: The Middle of My Bridge (Kindle Edition)
So Grace is a wonderful author, who travels to place to write about and meets men along the way. She has a fling with them and leaves them as a memory. Until she meets Etienne. Things change, he isn’t one to completely jump into bed with her. Even though that’s what she wants. He wins her over by doing little things that makes her feel amazing and takes his time. He won’t do a thing until she loves him fully. This is an amazing story of love and romance with a little history in it. Couldn’t put it down.